Best Machinery Moving Equipment: 12 Toe Jacks, Slings, Hoists and Skates Ranked (2026 Buyer's Guide)
Best machinery moving equipment in 2026 — the short answer
Moving a machine is four jobs, not one. To lift it, the TEMCo TH0023 toe jack gets under a base with almost no clearance. To sling it, the DD Sling 2-ply nylon is the only one here that ships the serial-numbered ID tag OSHA actually requires. To roll it, the VEVOR 4-piece skate set states its 17,637 lb as a total rather than leaving you to guess. And to reach it, fork extensions are a front-end attachment that legally changes your forklift's capacity plate.
As an Amazon Associate, WC Safety earns from qualifying purchases. Prices and availability are subject to change. Full affiliate disclosure.
Machinery moving equipment is the one category on a jobsite where the published number and the usable number diverge most often — and where the gap between them is measured in tons suspended over someone's feet. A web sling has three different capacities depending on how you rig it. A four-piece skate set has one capacity that may be per skate or for the set, and two listings from the same brand disagree about which. A pair of fork extensions changes what your forklift is rated to carry, and OSHA requires the capacity plate to be changed to match.
This guide ranks twelve items from the lifting and positioning, machine skate and forklift attachment collections, organised by the four stages of the job, with every capacity read off the manufacturer's own listing and mapped to 29 CFR 1910.184 and 1910.178. For palletised freight rather than bare machinery, start with best pallet jacks.
Editorial verdict — best lifting sling
The DD Sling 2 in 2-ply twisted-eye nylon is the pick because it does the one thing the regulation demands and most listings skip: it publishes all three hitch ratings — 6,400 lb vertical, 5,100 lb choker, 12,800 lb basket — and ships a traceable serial-numbered ID tag. 29 CFR 1910.184(c)(14) says employers "must not use slings without affixed and legible identification markings", so a sling that arrives without one is not merely inconvenient, it is unusable as issued.
Stage 1 — lift it: hydraulic toe jacks
A machine bolted flat to a floor has nowhere for a bottle jack to go. A toe jack has a claw that slides into a fraction of an inch of clearance and lifts from the toe, with a second pad on top for conventional lifting once you have room. Every toe jack publishes two very different numbers, and the toe rating is always the lower one.
1. TEMCo TH0023 Hydraulic Container / Machine Toe Jack — best toe jack overall
5 ton on the toe · 10 ton on the top pad · model TH0023
The best toe jack for machinery is the TEMCo, and the reason is the spread between its two ratings. Five tons on the claw is enough to break a lathe, press or transformer free of the floor; ten tons on the top pad means the same tool covers conventional cribbing work once the load is high enough to get a pad underneath. Buy for the toe figure, always — the toe is the mode you bought it for, and the top rating is a bonus that only applies when the load is already lifted. Work in pairs or fours at diagonal corners, crib as you go, and never put any part of yourself under a load held only by hydraulics.
→ Browse equipment movers and machine skates · Read the NIOSH lifting equation
Pros
- 5 ton on the toe — the number that matters
- 10 ton top pad doubles it as a conventional jack
- Named model number for parts and seals
Cons
- Most expensive jack here
- Toe and top heights not published on the listing
- Hydraulics hold a load; cribbing secures it
VIEW ON WC SAFETY → CHECK PRICE ON AMAZON →
2. VEVOR Hydraulic Toe Jack, 5 Ton Toe / 10 Ton Top — best documented lift heights
5 ton on the toe · 10 ton on the top · toe height 0.8–6.8 in · top height 11.3–17.3 in · air-hydraulic claw jack
The toe jack to buy on paper is this one, because it publishes the two dimensions that decide whether it fits under your machine at all: the toe travels from 0.8 in to 6.8 in, and the top pad from 11.3 in to 17.3 in. That starting height of eight tenths of an inch is the whole product — if your machine base sits flatter than that, no toe jack in this range will get under it and you are into wedges and shims first. Matching the TEMCo on capacity while stating its geometry makes this the easier specification decision.
→ Compare with the smaller 2.5 ton VEVOR · Browse jobsite equipment
Pros
- 0.8 in starting toe height, published
- Same 5/10 ton ratings as the TEMCo
- Full travel range stated for both toe and top
Cons
- 5 ton is the TOE rating, not the headline 10 ton
- Heavy to reposition by hand
- No model number published for spares
VIEW ON WC SAFETY → CHECK PRICE ON AMAZON →
Stage 2 — sling it: synthetic web slings
A web sling has three capacities, not one, and the difference between them is the difference between a lift and an incident. 29 CFR 1910.184(i)(1) requires that "each sling shall be marked or coded to show the rated capacities for each type of hitch and type of synthetic web material" — so all three numbers should be on the tag before the sling ever touches a load.
3. DD Sling 2 in 2-Ply Twisted Eye Nylon — best lifting sling overall
6,400 lb vertical · 5,100 lb choker · 12,800 lb basket · 2 in wide, 2-ply 900 nylon webbing · Type 4 twisted eye · serial-numbered ID tag · made in USA
The best web sling here publishes all three hitch ratings and backs them with a traceable serial-numbered tag, which is exactly what an inspection routine and 1910.184(c)(14) both need. The Type 4 twisted eye puts the loops at 90 degrees to the sling body, which seats a choker hitch far better than a flat eye — worth having when the load is a round column or a machine you are cinching rather than cradling. At 2-ply it carries roughly double the vertical rating of the 1-ply slings below. Nylon has one restriction worth knowing: 1910.184(i)(6)(i) bars nylon web slings where fumes, vapours, sprays, mists or liquids of acids or phenolics are present — for those, use polyester.
→ Compare with the polyester Trekassy pair · Browse lifting, pulling and positioning
Pros
- All three hitch ratings published
- Serial-numbered ID tag — what 1910.184(c)(14) requires
- Type 4 twisted eye seats a choker properly
- Highest vertical rating in this guide
Cons
- Nylon is barred where acids or phenolics are present
- Nylon stretches more under load than polyester
- Most expensive sling here
VIEW ON WC SAFETY → CHECK PRICE ON AMAZON →
4. Keeper 12 ft x 2 in Performance Engineered Lift Sling — best-documented ratings
WSTDA rated: 3,100 lb vertical · 2,480 lb choker · 6,200 lb basket · 12 ft x 2 in, 1-ply Hi-Test webbing · flat eye-to-eye loops · Type 3, Class 7
The clearest sling label in this range belongs to Keeper, which states its ratings as WSTDA rated capacities — attributing them to the Web Sling & Tie Down Association's standard rather than leaving them unsourced. The three figures show the pattern you should expect on every web sling: basket is exactly double vertical, and choker is about 80% of vertical. At 12 ft it is long enough to basket around a machine of real size and still have eye length to work with. It is 1-ply, so its vertical rating is roughly half that of the 2-ply DD Sling — the trade you make for a sling that is easier to handle and seat.
→ See the shorter Keeper 6 ft sling · Read best leather work gloves for handling
Pros
- Ratings attributed to the WSTDA standard
- All three hitches published
- 12 ft gives real basket reach
- Type and Class stated on the listing
Cons
- 1-ply — half the vertical rating of the 2-ply DD Sling
- Flat eyes seat a choker less well than twisted eyes
- Web material not stated in the listing text
VIEW ON WC SAFETY → CHECK PRICE ON AMAZON →
5. Trekassy 2-Pack 10 ft x 2 in Polyester Slings — best pair for a two-point lift
6,200 lb vertical · 12,400 lb basket (choker not published) · 10 ft x 2 in, 2-ply · 100% polyester · flat loops · sold as a pair
Slings are bought in pairs far more often than singly, because most machine lifts are two-point, and this is the only listing here that ships two matched 2-ply slings together. Polyester is the material to choose when the environment rules out nylon: 1910.184(i)(6) bars nylon where acids or phenolics are present and bars polyester and polypropylene where caustics are present, so the two materials cover each other's exclusions. Polyester also stretches less under load and resists UV, which matters if the slings live on a yard truck. Note the gap: Trekassy publishes vertical and basket but not choker, so if you rig chokers you are working without a published number and should read the tag.
→ Compare with the 2-ply nylon DD Sling · Browse cargo control
Pros
- Two matched 2-ply slings — most lifts need a pair
- Polyester: low stretch, UV resistant, allowed where nylon is not
- 6,200 lb vertical each
Cons
- Choker rating not published — read the tag before you choke
- Barred where caustics are present
- Flat loops, not twisted eyes
VIEW ON WC SAFETY → CHECK PRICE ON AMAZON →
6. Kodiak Straps 2-Ply 2 in x 6 ft Polyester Sling — good sling, contradictory label
Manufacturer's detail: 3,100 lb vertical · 2,400 lb choker · 6,200 lb basket · 2 in x 6 ft, 2-ply polyester · flat eye · 2-pack · elongation under 5%
Read this listing carefully before you rig it. Its detail bullets give the three hitch ratings as 3,100 lb vertical, 2,400 lb choker and 6,200 lb basket — a consistent set following the usual pattern. Its product title, however, headlines "6,200 lb vertical capacity", which is the basket figure. The two cannot both be true, and rigging to the title rather than the bullet would double the intended load on a vertical pick. This is precisely why 1910.184(c)(13) points at "the identification markings permanently affixed to the sling" rather than at any listing, box or catalogue: the tag is the rating, and nothing else is. Physically it is a capable short sling — low-stretch polyester, 2-ply, sold as a pair — and it is ranked here rather than excluded because the correct numbers are published, just not in the title.
→ See the Keeper for an unambiguous label · Browse lifting, pulling and positioning
Pros
- All three hitch ratings are published in the detail
- Polyester, under 5% elongation
- Sold as a pair; short 6 ft length suits tight picks
Cons
- Title headlines the BASKET figure as "vertical" — rig to the tag
- 3,100 lb vertical is low for a 2-ply
- Unbranded webbing spec
VIEW ON WC SAFETY → CHECK PRICE ON AMAZON →
Stage 3 — hold and pull it: chain hoists and lever hoists
A hand chain hoist lifts vertically from an overhead anchor; a lever hoist (a come-along) pulls in any direction and is the tool for dragging a machine into position or taking up slack on a sling. Both are rated in tons and both live or die on the brake.
7. VEVOR Hand Chain Hoist, 2 Ton — best overhead chain hoist
2 ton / 4,400 lb · 20 ft lift · G80 heat-treated galvanized chain · dual-pawl brake · 340 N pull force at full load · 360-degree rotating hooks with safety latches
The best hand chain hoist here is the 2 ton VEVOR, and the two specs that separate it are the 20 ft lift and the published pull force. Twenty feet of chain fall is genuinely useful headroom in a plant with a high structure — most hoists in this price band give ten. The 340 N figure at full load is about 76 lbf, which tells you a single operator can work it at rated capacity without a second pair of hands. G80 heat-treated chain is the right grade for lifting, and the dual-pawl brake is the mechanism that holds the load if you let go. Anchor it to structure rated for the load and the shock, never to a pipe or a joist you have not had checked.
→ Compare with the SPECSTAR 2 ton · Browse warehouse equipment
Pros
- 20 ft lift — double the usual chain fall
- Publishes pull force (340 N at full load)
- G80 heat-treated galvanized chain
- Dual-pawl brake, latched 360-degree hooks
Cons
- Vertical lifting only — it will not pull sideways
- 20 ft of chain is heavy to carry and store
- Needs an anchor rated for the load
VIEW ON WC SAFETY → CHECK PRICE ON AMAZON →
8. VEVOR Manual Lever Chain Hoist, 1-1/2 Ton — best come-along for positioning
1.5 ton / 3,300 lb · 10 ft lift · G80 galvanized carbon steel chain · lever operation
The positioning tool in this list is the lever hoist, because it works at any angle. Setting a machine on skates and needing to drag it eighteen inches into alignment is a pulling job, not a lifting one, and a chain hoist hung from a beam cannot do it. At 1.5 ton this VEVOR sits above the common 1 ton units with the same 10 ft of G80 chain, which is the right place to be for machinery work where the pull is against friction rather than gravity and shock loads are easy to generate. Take up slack slowly: 1910.184(c)(11) prohibits shock loading outright, and a lever hoist is the easiest tool on a site to shock-load by snatching.
→ See the YELLOW JACKET 3/4 ton · Read how to build a workplace ergonomics program
Pros
- Pulls at any angle, not just vertically
- 1.5 ton — above the common 1 ton class
- G80 galvanized chain, 10 ft
Cons
- Easiest tool here to shock-load — take up slack slowly
- Brake type not published
- Short 10 ft chain limits reach
VIEW ON WC SAFETY → CHECK PRICE ON AMAZON →
9. YELLOW JACKET 3/4 Ton Lever Chain Hoist — best published brake design
0.75 ton / 1,650 lb · Weston double-pawl brake · G80 galvanized manganese steel chain · 360-degree rotation · guide-chain mechanism
The brake is the safety system on any hoist, and this is the only listing in the range that names its design: a Weston double-pawl brake, which distributes the load across two pawls rather than one. That is worth knowing precisely because most listings say nothing at all about the brake. The trade is capacity — at 3/4 ton this is the smallest hoist ranked here, suited to fixtures, motors, gearboxes and tensioning rather than to moving a machine outright. Its guide-chain mechanism is the second useful detail: chain jams are the common failure mode on cheap lever hoists, usually at the worst moment.
→ Compare with the VEVOR 1 ton lever hoist · Browse jobsite equipment
Pros
- Names its brake: Weston double-pawl
- Guide-chain mechanism resists jamming
- G80 galvanized manganese steel chain
Cons
- 3/4 ton — smallest capacity ranked here
- Lift height not published
- Too small for whole-machine moves
VIEW ON WC SAFETY → CHECK PRICE ON AMAZON →
Stage 4 — roll it: machine skates
10. VEVOR 4PCS Machinery Skates Dollies, 17,637 lb — best skate set
8-ton TOTAL capacity for the 4-pack (17,637 lb) · four skates · 3.1 in PU casters with precision bearings · 360-degree swivel non-slip cap · low profile · thickened powder-coated carbon steel
The best machine skate set is the one that tells you plainly what its number means. VEVOR states this as "8-Ton Total Capacity: this 4-pack ... handles loads up to 17,637 lbs" — a set rating, unambiguous, which is what you need when you are dividing a machine's weight across four corners and checking the worst-loaded one. Non-marking PU casters at 3.1 in protect finished floors and roll quietly, and the 360-degree swivel cap lets each skate find its own direction as the load turns. Position one under each corner, keep the load's centre of gravity inside the pattern, and move at walking pace with a lever hoist rather than by pushing the machine itself.
→ See casters and wheels for replacements · Read best platform trucks and utility carts
Pros
- States its rating explicitly as a 4-pack TOTAL
- Non-marking PU casters protect finished floors
- 360-degree swivel caps on all four
- Low profile for minimal lift height
Cons
- 17,637 lb is the SET, roughly 4,400 lb per corner
- PU is softer than steel rollers on rough floors
- Needs a jack to get the load onto the skates
VIEW ON WC SAFETY → CHECK PRICE ON AMAZON →
11. Amarite Machine Skates, 8,800 lb — best single skate
8,800 lb · five 360-degree PU rollers · 4.25 in board height · 6.5 in pad diameter · carbon steel
A single high-capacity skate is the right buy when the load is long rather than square — a lathe bed, a beam, a press frame — where you want two or three skates along an axis rather than four at corners. At 8,800 lb on one unit with five PU rollers, this Amarite carries more on one unit than the 8-ton four-piece set provides per corner. The two dimensions to check against your machine are the 4.25 in board height, which is how far you must jack the base up before the skate slides under, and the 6.5 in pad diameter, which is the contact area the swivel cap presents to the machine foot. Both are published, which is unusual in this category.
→ Compare with the 6-roller steel version · Browse equipment movers and machine skates
Pros
- 8,800 lb on a single skate
- Board height and pad diameter both published
- Five PU rollers spread the load along the frame
Cons
- 4.25 in board height needs real jacking clearance
- Sold singly — a four-corner move needs four
- PU rollers dislike grit and rough concrete
VIEW ON WC SAFETY → CHECK PRICE ON AMAZON →
12. Vestil FE-5-72 Steel Fork Extensions — best fork extensions
Fits 5 in fork width · 72 in length · 2 in thickness · steel
Fork extensions are the cheapest way to reach a long load and the easiest way to overload a forklift without noticing, because they move the load centre forward and a truck's capacity is quoted at a specific load centre. Vestil publishes the three numbers that decide fit: the fork width it accommodates (5 in), the length (72 in) and the thickness (2 in) — and thickness matters because it sets how much the extension raises the load above the original fork, changing your under-clearance. Before fitting any extension, read the regulatory section below: under 29 CFR 1910.178(a)(4) and (a)(5) this is a front-end attachment, not an accessory.
→ See the FE-4-72 for 4 in forks · Browse forklift attachments
Pros
- Publishes fork width, length AND thickness
- Named model number in a documented series
- Steel construction from an industrial brand
Cons
- Changes your truck's rated capacity — plate must be updated
- No capacity published on the listing itself
- Most expensive extensions in the range
VIEW ON WC SAFETY → CHECK PRICE ON AMAZON →
Per skate or per set? The question that changes a rating fourfold
This is the single most dangerous ambiguity in the machine-skate category, and two listings from the same brand illustrate it perfectly.
The VEVOR 4PCS set says: "8-Ton Total Capacity: This 4-pack of heavy-duty machinery skate dollies effortlessly handles loads up to 17,637 lbs." That is explicit — 17,637 lb is the whole set, about 4,400 lb per corner.
The VEVOR 4-Piece 12T set says: "Massive 12-Ton Load Capacity: … up to 26,455 lbs per dolly." Read literally, that is a set that carries 105,820 lb — 48 tonnes — which would be an extraordinary claim for four low-profile skates, and it sits inconsistently beside the same manufacturer's own convention on the 8-ton set, where the headline tonnage is the total.
Treat the headline tonnage as the set rating unless the manufacturer confirms otherwise in writing, and size the move on the worst-loaded corner rather than on any total. Machine weight is almost never distributed evenly across four points — a lathe carries most of its mass at the headstock — so even a correct set rating is not four equal shares. If you need certainty, buy single skates with an unambiguous per-unit rating, like the 8,800 lb Amarite, and count them yourself.
The three numbers on a sling, and why basket is exactly double
Every web sling in this guide publishes a basket rating exactly twice its vertical rating, and a choker rating around 80% of vertical. That is not a coincidence and it is not a safety margin you can borrow against — it is geometry. In a vertical hitch one leg of webbing carries the load. In a basket hitch the sling passes under the load with both ends on the hook, so two legs share it. In a choker the sling is pulled around itself, and the bend at the choke point reduces what the webbing can carry.
| Sling | Material / ply | Vertical | Choker | Basket | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DD Sling 2 in x 6 ft | Nylon, 2-ply | 6,400 lb | 5,100 lb | 12,800 lb | Price |
| Keeper 12 ft x 2 in | Hi-Test, 1-ply | 3,100 lb | 2,480 lb | 6,200 lb | Price |
| Trekassy 10 ft x 2 in | Polyester, 2-ply | 6,200 lb | Not published | 12,400 lb | Price |
| Kodiak 6 ft x 2 in | Polyester, 2-ply | 3,100 lb (title says 6,200) | 2,400 lb | 6,200 lb | Price |
All values are transcribed from the manufacturer's published listing detail. Where a listing's title conflicts with its own specification bullets, the bullet value is shown and the conflict is noted. "Not published" means the manufacturer does not state that hitch. The sling's own tag governs in every case.
What OSHA 1910.184 requires of a sling
The sling standard is unusually concrete, and most of it is a purchasing and daily-use checklist rather than paperwork.
The tag is the rating. 1910.184(i)(1): "Each sling shall be marked or coded to show the rated capacities for each type of hitch and type of synthetic web material." 1910.184(c)(13) requires employers not to load a sling beyond "its recommended safe working load as prescribed by the sling manufacturer on the identification markings permanently affixed to the sling", and 1910.184(c)(14) is blunt: "Employers must not use slings without affixed and legible identification markings." A sling whose tag has worn illegible is out of service, not merely untidy.
Inspect every day, before use. 1910.184(d): "Each day before being used, the sling and all fastenings and attachments shall be inspected for damage or defects by a competent person designated by the employer … Damaged or defective slings shall be immediately removed from service."
The operating rules. Slings shall not be loaded beyond rated capacity (c)(4); shall not be shortened with knots or bolts (c)(2); legs shall not be kinked (c)(3); loads in a basket hitch shall be balanced to prevent slippage (c)(5); slings shall be padded or protected from sharp edges (c)(7); employees shall be kept clear of loads about to be lifted and of suspended loads (c)(9); hands or fingers shall not be placed between the sling and its load while the sling is being tightened (c)(10); shock loading is prohibited (c)(11); and a sling shall not be pulled from under a load resting on it (c)(12).
Material and temperature limits. 1910.184(i)(6) bars nylon web slings "where fumes, vapors, sprays, mists or liquids of acids or phenolics are present", and bars polyester and polypropylene "where fumes, vapors, sprays, mists or liquids of caustics are present". 1910.184(i)(7) caps polyester and nylon at 180 °F and polypropylene at 200 °F. And repairs are not a shop job: 1910.184(i)(8) allows repair only by a sling manufacturer or equivalent entity, with proof testing to twice the rated capacity before the sling returns to service.
Fork extensions are a front-end attachment, not an accessory
Fitting extensions to a forklift is the step in this guide most often treated as shopping when it is actually a modification. Three paragraphs of 29 CFR 1910.178 apply directly.
1910.178(a)(4): "Modifications and additions which affect capacity and safe operation shall not be performed by the customer or user without manufacturers prior written approval. Capacity, operation, and maintenance instruction plates, tags, or decals shall be changed accordingly." Extensions move the load centre forward, which changes capacity — so this is written approval plus an updated capacity plate, not a bolt-on.
1910.178(a)(5): "If the truck is equipped with front-end attachments other than factory installed attachments, the user shall request that the truck be marked to identify the attachments and show the approximate weight of the truck and attachment combination at maximum elevation with load laterally centered."
1910.178(o)(4) is the operating rule people miss entirely: "Trucks equipped with attachments shall be operated as partially loaded trucks when not handling a load." The extensions themselves count as load. Add 1910.178(o)(2) — only loads within the rated capacity of the truck — and the picture is complete: buy the extensions, get the approval, re-plate the truck, and treat it as carrying something even when the forks are empty. For what the forks are lifting off, see best dock plates and dock boards.
Also in the range
Jacks: the VEVOR 2.5 ton toe / 5 ton top with a 0.8–5.3 in toe range is the lighter option. Skates: the 8,800 lb integrated-casting skate, the VEVOR 8,800 lb single, the FAHKNS 8T six-steel-roller skate for rough floors, the 4,400 lb 3-roller skate and the 5,500 lb fixed (non-swivel) skate, which tracks straight instead of steering. Hoists: SPECSTAR 2 ton and 1 ton, YELLOW JACKET 1 ton chain block, VEVOR 1 ton, VEVOR 1 ton lever hoist, a 1 ton ratchet puller, a 1 ton chain block and the 1/2 ton mini come-along for light tensioning. Lift tables: the VEVOR TF23, CAMMOO foldable scissor cart and a 500 lb scissor table bring a load to working height. Extensions: Vestil FE-4-72 and FE-4-54 for 4 in forks, VEVOR 84 in x 5.5 in, 72 in x 5.5 in and 84 in x 4.5 in, Garvee 84 in, YITAMOTOR 92 in, a YINTATECH 92 in pair and an 84 in pair rated 5,500 lb.
Machinery moving: frequently asked questions
What equipment do you need to move a heavy machine?
Four things, in order: a toe jack to break it off the floor, slings and a hoist to take the weight or steady it, machine skates to carry it, and a lever hoist to pull it into position. A pallet jack does not work on a bare machine because there is nothing for the forks to enter — that is what skates replace. See best pallet jacks only if the machine is already on a pallet or skid.
Why does a sling have three different capacities?
Because the hitch changes how many legs of webbing carry the load and how the webbing is bent. Vertical is one leg; basket passes the sling under the load with both ends up, so two legs share it and the rating is double; choker pulls the sling around itself and the bend at the choke reduces capacity to roughly 80% of vertical. 29 CFR 1910.184(i)(1) requires all of them to be marked on the sling.
Is a basket hitch always exactly twice the vertical rating?
On every sling in this guide, yes — Keeper 3,100/6,200, DD Sling 6,400/12,800, Trekassy 6,200/12,400, Kodiak 3,100/6,200. But that doubling assumes the legs hang vertically. As the legs angle outward the tension in each rises, and at wide angles a basket can be worth far less than double. 1910.184(c)(5) also requires basket loads to be balanced to prevent slippage. Read the sling's tag and mind the angle.
Can you use a sling that has lost its tag?
No. 29 CFR 1910.184(c)(14) states that employers "must not use slings without affixed and legible identification markings", and (c)(13) ties the safe working load to the markings permanently affixed to the sling. A sling with an unreadable tag has no defensible rating, whatever the invoice said. The DD Sling ships a serial-numbered tag for exactly this reason.
Nylon or polyester slings — which should you buy?
The environment decides, and the two materials cover each other's exclusions. 1910.184(i)(6) bars nylon where fumes, vapours, sprays, mists or liquids of acids or phenolics are present, and bars polyester and polypropylene where caustics are present. Beyond that, polyester stretches less (under 5% on the Kodiak listing) and resists UV; nylon is more elastic and absorbs shock slightly better. Both are capped at 180 °F by 1910.184(i)(7).
How often must lifting slings be inspected?
Every day before use. 1910.184(d) requires that "each day before being used, the sling and all fastenings and attachments shall be inspected for damage or defects by a competent person designated by the employer", with additional inspections during use where service conditions warrant, and immediate removal from service of anything damaged or defective.
Can you repair a damaged web sling?
Not in-house. 1910.184(i)(8) allows repair only by a sling manufacturer or an equivalent entity, and every repaired sling must be proof tested by that entity to twice its rated capacity before returning to service. In practice a damaged web sling is a replacement, not a repair.
Is a 4-piece machine skate set rated per skate or for the set?
Check the listing wording and assume the set unless it says otherwise in writing. The VEVOR 4PCS states 17,637 lb as an explicit 8-ton total. The VEVOR 12T says 26,455 lb "per dolly", which read literally would make the set 48 tonnes and is inconsistent with the same brand's other listing. Size the move on the worst-loaded corner, not on any total.
How many machine skates do you need?
Enough that the heaviest single support point stays under one skate's rating, which is usually four at the corners for a square machine or three in a triangle for stability on uneven floors. Machine weight is rarely even — a lathe carries most of its mass at the headstock — so divide by the real distribution, not by four. Single high-capacity skates like the 8,800 lb Amarite make that arithmetic easier.
What is a toe jack and when do you need one?
A toe jack has a claw that slides into a fraction of an inch of clearance under a machine base and lifts from the toe, with a second pad on top for conventional lifting. You need one whenever a machine sits flat on the floor with no lifting points and no room for a bottle jack — which is most machines. Every toe jack publishes two ratings and the toe figure is always the lower one; buy on that.
Chain hoist or lever hoist — what is the difference?
A hand chain hoist lifts vertically from an overhead anchor and is operated by pulling a loop of hand chain. A lever hoist, or come-along, is worked by a ratcheting handle and pulls in any direction, which makes it the tool for dragging a machine into alignment once it is on skates. Most machinery moves need both.
Do fork extensions reduce a forklift's capacity?
Yes, because they move the load centre forward and forklift capacity is quoted at a specific load centre. That is why 29 CFR 1910.178(a)(4) requires the manufacturer's prior written approval for modifications and additions affecting capacity, and requires the capacity plates to be changed accordingly. 1910.178(a)(5) additionally requires the truck to be marked to identify the attachment and show the weight of the truck-and-attachment combination.
Do you have to do anything differently when driving with fork extensions fitted but no load?
Yes, and it is the rule most often missed. 29 CFR 1910.178(o)(4): "Trucks equipped with attachments shall be operated as partially loaded trucks when not handling a load." The extensions are themselves weight out in front of the front axle, so travel, braking and turning should be treated as if the truck is carrying something even with empty forks.
What is shock loading and why does it matter so much?
Shock loading is applying load suddenly — snatching slack out of a sling, dropping a load onto it, or jerking a lever hoist. The instantaneous force can be many times the static weight, which is why 1910.184(c)(11) prohibits it outright rather than derating for it. Take up slack slowly until the sling is just tight, then check the rigging before lifting.
What else belongs on a machinery move?
Cribbing and hardwood blocking so nothing is ever held only by hydraulics, safety-toe footwear because this job is a crush hazard from start to finish — see best work boots for warehouse — cut-resistant or leather gloves for handling chain and webbing, clear marked routes under the same aisle rules that govern powered equipment, and a stocked kit: first aid kits for warehouses.
When should a machine skate or hoist be taken out of service?
A skate: when a roller is flat-spotted, seized or shedding polyurethane, when the swivel cap will not rotate, or when the frame is visibly deformed. A hoist: when a chain link is stretched, gouged or twisted, when the brake will not hold a test load, when a hook is opened out or its latch is missing, or when the load chain is corroded. In every case the fault is structural, not serviceable — replace it.
Shop these picks on Amazon
TEMCo Toe Jack VEVOR 5/10 Ton Toe Jack DD Sling 2-Ply Nylon Keeper 12 ft Sling Trekassy 2-Pack Kodiak 2-Ply VEVOR 2 Ton Chain Hoist VEVOR 1.5 Ton Lever Hoist YELLOW JACKET 3/4 Ton VEVOR 4PCS Skates Amarite 8,800 lb Skate Vestil FE-5-72
Reviewed by Steven Eaton, WC Safety Editorial
Independent, specification-based product research. Last updated 27 August 2026. WC Safety is an independent industrial PPE review and research site — it does not sell, stock or distribute any product in this guide, and it holds no relationship with any manufacturer named here.
How this guide was researched
Every capacity, dimension, chain grade, roller count and material in this guide was transcribed on 27 August 2026 from the manufacturer's published listing for that exact model, and all 40 listings in this range were opened and matched against the product pages on this site before the guide was written. Where a listing's title conflicts with its own specification bullets — as on one sling and one skate set — both are reported and the conflict is stated rather than resolved silently. Where a manufacturer does not publish a figure, the tables say so instead of carrying an estimate. Regulatory text is quoted verbatim from the sources below.
- OSHA 29 CFR 1910.184 — Slings (safe operating practices, inspections, synthetic web sling marking, materials and temperature limits, repairs)
- OSHA 29 CFR 1910.178 — Powered industrial trucks (modifications and front-end attachments at (a)(4) and (a)(5); loading at (o))
- OSHA 29 CFR 1910.176 — Handling materials, general (aisle clearances on the route)
Disclosure
WC Safety participates in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program. We earn from qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page, at no additional cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure.
No manufacturer named in this guide sponsored, reviewed or approved it, and no placement in the ranking was paid for. WC Safety is an independent review and research site and is not a retailer or distributor.
This guide reports manufacturer-published specifications and regulatory text. It is not legal advice, not a rigging plan, and not a substitute for a qualified rigger. Lifting and moving machinery is high-consequence work: the sling's own tag governs its rating, the equipment manufacturer's instructions govern its use, and a competent person must plan and inspect the lift. Requirements vary by jurisdiction; OSHA State Plan states may impose additional or different requirements.
Leave a comment